Step Out of the Traffic

Waking early, I eagerly anticipated the day ahead, a fun-filled day with 5th graders.  As a substitute teacher, I enjoy the opportunity and challenge of teaching any grade level.  As I rounded the corner near the classroom, I met the teacher I was subbing for.  After greeting one another, she said “I hope you’re here to sub for someone else because I’m not leaving until noon.”

NOON?!

(It was 7:50 at the time.)

Noon – How did I miss that NOT-so-Little tidbit of information? In the busyness of life, too often we miss important details.

Not long ago, my husband and I debated  whether we were experiencing hearing loss or simply not really paying attention. Did I really not hear or did I not listen?  This has caused me to examine another aspect of my life; my relationship with God. Is my quiet time (Bible study and prayer) an item on my To-Do list, or am I really quiet truly seeking Him? Am I too busy to listen to what God is trying to tell me or to see the many blessings He has given me? He tells me to  “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations. I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10 NIV) I really like how it says it in The Message:

     “Step out of the traffic! Take a long,
      loving look at me, your High God,
      above politics, above everything.”

That’s why I’m taking the Joy Dare, intentionally stepping out of the traffic, and taking a long, loving look at God. I don’t want to be so busy that I miss HIM. Although, my morning was not what I thought it was going to be, it was a gift from God; today’s “gift that’s Just. Right.”

…and now I am ready for my fun-filled afternoon with 5th graders!

3 thoughts on “Step Out of the Traffic

  1. This is something I have to think about often! A lot of times I just go through the motions of my quiet time to “get it done.” Thanks for the reminder! I’m already loving your blog.

  2. After I read your message today, the most wonderful feeling came over me. It’s been a little hectic as you might imagine and suddenly there was no fear, no stress, no craziness, only calmness. My thoughts were along this line, since God is on my side, who can be against me? No one! Thanks, for your words of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

