Bountiful Harvest

Seed catalogs are arriving in the mail weekly, if not daily, causing me to long for summer. With hi-lighter in hand, I thumb page by page, dreaming and planning, hoping and praying for a bountiful harvest.

Bedrooms are no longer occupied by growing children lending space to be used differently.  I’m brushing up on tips and tricks for successful seed starting with the hopes of dramatically slashing the number of purchased plants.

A few other ideas I’m pondering are growing herbs in the strawberry pyramid and mixing some “surprises” into flower beds.  The hot Kansas wind has not treated strawberry plants on the pyramid kindly! I think some herbs will grow better, and an added benefit will be a more defined area for the spreading varieties.  I had to remove and harshly prune several bushes in the flower beds, which has left the space empty.  Adding climbing plants and “yard art” should add definition and eye appeal.

As I dream and plan, hope and pray for a bountiful harvest,  my thoughts broaden to the Garden of Life.  What seeds am I planting and nurturing?  Do I need transplanted? Which of my branches need pruned?

Jesus said in John 15: 1-2, 4 (NIV Bible)

                “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener.  He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful…. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”

Leave a Reply

