Sunrise…Sunset

I may be a bit biased, but Southwest Kansas has the best sunrises and sunsets!!  The horizon stretches for miles and miles with little to nothing obstructing the view. Each morning and evening a new mural is painted by the hand of God.  No two are alike, and minute by minute the hues and patterns mix and change.  Many have tried to mirror the splendor with paint and brush, or capture the radiant beauty with camera, but none can compare.

I don’t  remember when I first REALLY noticed this handiwork of God, but I know I was a young girl. There have been chapters in my life when I didn’t have a clear view to watch the light show of the beginning and ending of day. I missed it, and it caused me to long for the wide open prairies. Now that my children have joined city life, on their visits to our home on the range I hear their “Oohs” and “Ahhs” at sunset.

When I begin and end the day watching the sun, it causes me to focus on the SON. I marvel once again “how God’s Word vaults across the skies from sunrise to sunset, melting ice, scorching deserts, warming hearts to faith.” (Psalm19:6 MSG) Yes…He warms my heart to faith! Whether I had been up all night because of a sleepless child or snoring husband, or have had a very difficult day, the sun on the horizon reminds me of God’s love and faithfulness. It reminds me that nothing is too great or too small for God.   It reminds me to intentionally  seek Him.

“O God, you are my God,

earnestly will I seek you;

my soul thirsts for you,

my body longs for you,

in a dry and weary land

where there is no water.”

Psalm 63:1 NIV

 

One thought on “Sunrise…Sunset

  1. amen to that! sure do miss the openness and sunsets here in Moscow. (notice I only mentioned sunsets, because I prefer to remain in bed until its light outside, 😉
    Enjoying your blogs..always finding encouragement from them!

Leave a Reply

