Stepping Stones

My Sis-in-law gave me a beautiful monogrammed stepping stone, too ornate to actually step on.  As I deliberate on the perfect place for this one, I begin to think …

Stepping stones usually mark a path; they lead somewhere. Sometimes they simply stop, other times they meander through a garden or yard where one cannot see both beginning and end. These paths make me curious. They beg for me to follow one stone after another, to see and discover what lies beyond.

Life is a path of stepping stones laid before us. At times, it is easy and exciting to skip along. It’s enjoyable and beauty abounds.  The path can also be confusing when it divides, and I’m not sure which direction to go. Other times, it is scarey and/or painful, and I want to turn around and go back. (Turning around and going back is not usually an option in life.)

Too often I’d rather settle for the path that allows for a leisure stroll.  I don’t want to endure a rigorous hike that is going to take sweat and tears, yet this is when I grow the most. When I know I can no longer endure what lies ahead, and I do not have the courage or strength to take the next step, God lays down the next stepping stone. Then He holds my hand and helps me take that next step. One step at a time. That’s all He’s asking of me – Trust Him one step at a time.

“If the Lord delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps  firm; though he stumble, he will not fall,  for the Lord upholds him with his hand.”            Psalm 37:23 & 24 NIV

I’m still not sure where I’ll put my monogrammed stone. but I’m eager to see where life’s path of stepping stones takes me today.

3 thoughts on “Stepping Stones

  1. Thanks again Kim for reminding me to trust God and just take it one step at a time. Sometimes I think you must be reading my mind, and know just what to say!

Leave a Reply

