Cheerful Birdsong

I woke with the dawn of light, and soon realized I was being greeted with cheerful birdsong.  As I began my day with prayer and Bible reading a song from my childhood came to mind and continued to repeat itself just like the round we used to sing.  Over and over it went until I could keep quiet no more.

Rejoice in the Lord Always and again I say Rejoice.

Rejoice in the Lord Always and again I say Rejoice.

Rejoice. Rejoice. And again I say Rejoice.

Rejoice. Rejoice. And again I say Rejoice.

Rejoice in the Lord Always and again I say Rejoice.

Rejoice in the Lord Always and again I say Rejoice.

It is easy to rejoice when all is well, but what about when life is crashing down?

when the pain is unbearable (physical or emotional)
when the loss is so unexpected
when the family is falling a part
when God feels so far away
when….

I began to re-read these Psalms of praise. (Psalm chapters 145-150) On these pages I found a God who is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love. He is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made. The Lord lifts up all who fall and who are bowed down. He is near to all who call on him. (not just when I FEEL him near, He IS near!) God hears my cry and watches over me. The Lord remains faithful forever. He sustains the fatherless and the widow. He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. My God is great, mighty, powerful. His understanding has no limits. His love is unfailing (even when…)

“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. 

Praise the Lord.”  Psalm 150:6 (NIV)

Let the birdsong continue with cheerful praise, as I too rejoice in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

