Terrible Wonderful Day

My thoughts are heavy  and they range from remorse to gratitude on this terrible wonderful day. I’ve been thinking about the horror and injustice that Jesus endured.

Too many times as Easter approaches my thoughts center on the dinner menu, chocolate bunnies, marshmallow peeps, jelly beans, a new Sunday-wear-to-church outfit, Jesus’ Resurrection; and overlook what took place BEFORE Jesus’ resurrection. So on this day called “Good Friday”, I’ve pondered and reflected on the events that took place as my savior endured more than I can even imagine.

Throughout the day, I’ve had many questions run through my mind:

  • Judas, how could you spend all those days with Jesus yet plot against him?
  • Peter, James and John, was it really so hard to stay awake and pray for Jesus?  He was always there for you, why couldn’t you be there for him when he needed you? “Could you not keep watch for one hour?”
  • Judas, how could you? You betrayed him with a KISS! That had to sting worse than a slap in the face.
  • Peter, you told Jesus you would never deny him, but you did three times that night!
  • Priests, elders, teachers of the law, why were you so blind to who Jesus was? Why did you feel so threatened by him that you had to have him crucified?
  • Pilate, you could have let Jesus go! You were a coward! Why didn’t you use the power of your position to do what was right?
  • Soldiers, did you have to be so cruel? What did Jesus ever do to hurt you?

Then I was reminded,

“For ALL have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” Romans 3:23 NIV

I am ever bit as guilty as these people. I helped crucify Jesus because of my sin.

“Those were my nails, that was my crown that pierced You hands and Your brow. Those were my thorns, those were my scorns, those were my tears that fell down. And just like You said it would be, You did it all for me. And after You counted the cost, You took my shame, my blame on my cross.” On My Cross by Jeremy Deibler

On this terrible day, it became wonderful.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8 NIV

It’s been a terrible wonderful day. Thank you, Jesus, for loving me so much!

Leave a Reply

