Let’s Move

Are you ready for an adventure?  Well then, pack you bags and let’s move! Oh! You should know we are going wherever your mother-in-law takes us.  Really! Won’t that be fun!?

There’s a lady who did that – packed her bags and moved to a different country with her mother-in-law.  No, she was not bribed or forced.  This lady was a young widow and ironically her mother-in-law was recently widowed as well.  Both were left husband-less in a land away from their own families.  Grief stricken, the mother-in-law wanted to go home, and thought it would be best for Daughter-in-Law to move back to her own family and home community.

What would you do if your were in this situation; go home or go with Mother-in-Law?

Daughter-in-Law, Ruth, flat out refused! She told Mother-in-Law, Naomi, “I’m going wherever you go. Your family will be my family.”

Wow! What devotion.

I honestly do not know how I would have responded.  I was blessed with a mother-in-law whom I loved and respected, and she is greatly missed. However, if I were in the same situation…….?

In the Biblical account of Ruth and Naomi, I’m intrigued by the love and devotion Ruth has for her bitter, grieving mother-in-law.  We know very little about these women prior to their husbands’ deaths.  What was their relationship like?  Had they hit it off from the beginning of the courtship of Son & Daughter-in Law? When Father and Son went to war, did that draw the women close? What was it about Naomi that caused Ruth to emphatically choose to go with Naomi?

I wish I knew the answers. I’d like to know the secrets to being a mother-in-law worthy of such love and devotion. I don’t want to take the place of my daughters-in-law’s  mothers, but I do want to be the best mother-in-law I can be.  As I grow in this role, I have much to learn! 

What words of wisdom can you share with me?

4 thoughts on “Let’s Move

  1. I’m reading “A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity” by Francine Rivers –and am currently on the story of Ruth. Have you read this book?! You’d love it!!! 🙂

  2. Would love wisdom on this as well since I have 3 sons. A very sweet, older, godly woman who I admire very much once shared a long time ago a piece of wisdom that I have never forgotten. (She also has 3 sons.) She said that each of her daughters in law are very different from one another but she loves each one for who they are. “Just love them for who they are.” is her advice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

