It’s Reunion Time!

It’s reunion time! A time for memories both remembering and making new. It can be fun reminiscing yester-year, but it can also be embarrassing when certain stories resurface. Many people use the phrase “Back in the good ol’ days” in their conversations. Sometimes I wonder what was so good about them?

My high school reunion is fast approaching, and there are classmates I have not seen since our graduation.  Thirty-some years have come and gone! Will I recognize them? Will they recognize me? I am not the fat girl I was at graduation, and many of my classmates are probably  not the same size they were.

Yes, our outward appearance  has changed, but more importantly we have each changed dramatically from the inside out. The journey we have been traveling since graduation has transformed each of us.  Some classmates have had great success, others heart breaking tragedies and a few have passed on to eternity.  We are not the teen who marched out our graduation ceremony.

Our lives are similar to wine and cheese. As they age, they become more fragrant and complex; they get better. One difference for us is that being good is not enough in light of eternity.  Without Jesus as Lord and Savior, it does not matter how good we are!

Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6 (NIV)

My ambition for this reunion is to get acquainted with these older adults who were once my childhood friends and classmates.  I look forward to hearing about their life journey, and  how they have grown to the person they are today. I also want to put out of my mind the negative memories of some individuals and with Paul and Timothy in Philippians 1:6 remember that…

“He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

