Finish the Race

Fine sandy beach, waves slapping, light breeze, an abundance of sunshine, dolphins passing by, ship on the horizon…this was our sanctuary for Sunday morning worship. Part of Hubby’s family joined us in this beautiful setting to worship God and to be challenged. Hubby began by giving some examples of starting off strong, but then just cruising to the finish.  He then challenged us to finish our life’s race strong, to avoid coasting. I’ve been pondering this topic these past few days.

Reflecting on the past, I can think of times I was tempted to simply cruise until that particular race (or phase) was over. Would you like to take a walk along memory lane with me?

Let’s start when I was a young mom with 4 children 5 years old and younger. Most days I loved this stage, but other days… I felt I would always be tired. Tired of changing diapers, cleaning up messes, squelching squabbles and tired of being tired. On those days, I couldn’t wait until they were all in school. However, it was important to finish this race strong, because they would all be in school sooner than it seemed. I had a mental list of “things to know & do before going to Kindergarten”, and my kids weren’t going to learn them on their own. I had to finish this race strong so they were ready to meet the world of school.

As the children got older the race had different dynamics. While feeling like a failure with one of my strong-willed children, I wanted to through up my hands and say I quit! Other times, I wanted to stick my head in the sand and not acknowledge the current problem. I knew those really were not choices. I believed God blessed me with these children to not only help guide them, but for my own growth as well. My dependence on God grew as I sought Him and His word for guidance and as my children’s shenanigans kept this Momma humble.

Now that my children are grown, there are knew and different obstacles along the course. However, the goal is still the same; finish the race strong.

 Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win!All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run with purpose in every step. I Corinthians 9:24-26 NLT

Leave a Reply

