Twas the Night Before [Christmas] Wedding

Twas the night before Christmas Wedding when all through the church
Everything was in place every step was rehearsed.
The lights were hung by the rafters with care
In hopes that Thomas Albert soon would be there.

The Bride was home all snug in her bed
While visions of ‘I Dos’ danced in her head.
Dad’s suit was all pressed along with my dress
And as Parents of the Bride we’re trying not to be stressed.

When out in the garage there arose such a clatter,
I ran down the stairs to see what was the matter.
The Brothers were there planning out a surprise
For the Bride and her Groom on their most special night.

I went up to my bed, but could not fall asleep.
I tossed and I turned then counted some sheep.
Instead of wasting time I decided to pray
And ask my Heavenly Father to bless the Wedding Day.

“Dear God, you gave this Daughter to me
To love and hold and teach her of Thee.
Now you are asking me to let her go
To a land far away with the man she loves so.

I’ve prayed and prayed since she was li’l
For a man who loves You and seeks Your will,
To love her and cherish, lead and provide
And Thomas is the one for this Precious Bride.

Give me the courage to set her free
To become the wife you’ve designed her to be
To submit to him as unto You
And to be his helper in all they do.

As dawn is dawning, please pave the way
For the most beautiful and blessed Wedding Day.
May you, God, be glorified in all that’s said and done
So all guests may see that You’re Number One.”

Today, I do not lose a Daughter, but rather, I gain another Son. I love you both!
Start the music and let the ceremony begin!

8 thoughts on “Twas the Night Before [Christmas] Wedding

  1. We had a after Thanksgiving wedding and just reviewed the pictures. I advise that regardless of how hectic the day is remember to get good family photos. You can’t redo the day of the lost memories. We did so please take my advise.

Leave a Reply

