When God Says “Go”

Have you ever felt God say “Go”, and you immediately said “No”?  That’s exactly what happened to me a couple years ago.

I believe without a doubt God laid an opportunity in front of me, and I said “No”.  Just like Moses of the Old Testament, I had numerous excuses why I was not the best candidate for the task.  With all my excuses you would think He was sending me to Siberia, but that’s not the case at all!  He was not even asking me to leave my community. So why have I continued to say “No”?

I could give you my list of excuses. I could even list ALL my friends who I think are much more qualified. However, the bottom line is – I have been disobedient and unwilling. (Ouch!! That was painful to admit.) It can be dangerous and life threatening to defy God. Do you remember what happened to Jonah when he told God “No”?

God had instructed Jonah to go to the city of Nineveh and deliver a message of warning. Jonah not only said “No”; he turned and went the opposite direction to get away from God. He boarded a ship hoping to escape to Tarshish. Of course, he could not escape God. When a terrible storm was about to capsize the ship, Jonah finally admitted his disobedience toward God. He told the men to throw him into the sea, and God would calm the storm. Fearing for their lives, the sailors picked up Jonah and threw him into the sea, and the storm stopped at once. Since God was not finished with Jonah, He sent a great fish to swallow him. For three days, Jonah was in the belly of the huge fish, crying out, praying and confessing to God. After 3 days and nights, God commanded the fish to “spit Jonah out on the beach”. (Jonah 2:10 NLT)

“Then the LORD spoke to Jonah a second time: ‘Get up and go to the great city of Nineveh, and deliver the message I have given you.’ This time Jonah obeyed the LORD’s command and went to Nineveh.”  Jonah 3:1-3 NLT

The task God has had for me is much less daunting then going to a foreign land to deliver a warning from All Mighty God, yet God has continued to prompt, nudge and give opportunity for me to say “Yes”. Having confessed my disobedience to God, and now to you, my dear readers, I am finally willing to step out in faith and obedience to the task God has.  I don’t know exactly what lies ahead, but God has a plan, and I am finally willing to get up and go.

Have you been saying “No” to God? Whether it is letting Him be Lord of your life or going where He is leading, don’t be as stubborn as I have been.  Say “Yes” today!

Leave a Reply

