Double Wedding Ring Quilt

I by no means am in the elite stitchers group called Quilters.  However, I love quilts.  In days gone by, women made their own quilts out of necessity, and many girls learned basic stitching and piecing by creating sampler blocks.  Fabrics were often leftover scraps from garments or cotton sacks.

quilt 2

Times have changed, and quilts can be purchased in most variety stores. With the array of colorful fabrics the possibilities for a beautiful quilt are endless.  Many home quilters no longer stitch by hand, but rather by machine.

With a house full of boys, my dream was to make my only daughter a double wedding ring quilt for her wedding present.  With the assistance of a true quilter, my sister in-law Jean, fabric was selected.  I chose 14 different colors and prints to create a scrappy patchwork look so it could be used with any bedroom color scheme.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

The process of cutting the many fabric pieces took much longer than I anticipated, and I wondered if I’d ever get started sewing.

Finally, the day came when I began piecing the arcs together.

quilt 1

Since my daughter was on the other side of the world teaching school in Russia, I was able to work without her knowing.  However, once again, this piecing took longer than I thought.  Daughter got engaged and is now married, and the quilt is not finished.  I should have started 5 years ago!! I did manage to surprise her though.  I wrapped the assembled quilt top and gave it to her at a bridal shower.

DSC01141

Only two steps are left: quilting and binding.  Tuesday, I dusted off my quilt frames, sandwiched the back, batting and top and wrapped the quilt onto the frames.

quilt 4

My sewing room/bedroom is the perfect width for the quilt frames!

I know it will take quite awhile to put in all the tiny hand stitches, but when the final one is in I’ll be sure to post a picture of the completed quilt. In the meantime, if you have an itch to stitch, come on over. I’m sure the fellowship would do us good. Plus, twice as many stitches would be put in.

quilt 3

6 thoughts on “Double Wedding Ring Quilt

  1. Pingback: A Quiet Day At Home…Diva Sews While Daisy Tweets! « The Cheeky Diva

  2. I think you’re amazing to do that design. I wanted to do the double wedding ring for my one daughter, but I realised it would take me too long and I’d never get it finished. Yours looks magnificent.. good luck with the handstitching!

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words! Last winter when I was sharing my secret project with an older friend she asked “Who gave you permission to do that pattern?” Haha! I’m glad I didn’t know how hard it would be or I would not have started.

  3. Pingback: Finished and Delivered | homespun happenings

Leave a Reply

