Praying for Haiti

Oh what a Saturday! Hubby is in Haiti so I’ve been holding down the fort. I thought I was getting a good start by heading out to chore before 8:00 this morning. However, by the time I hauled bales for cows and heifers; loaded the water tank, filled it and then emptied into the bulls’ tank, and got the cows off the stubble field it was nearly noon. For some reason these tasks take me longer than for Hubby. I didn’t mind though. It was such a beautiful morning, and I thoroughly enjoyed the serenade of birdsong.

When I got back inside, I was delighted to find an email from my Dear Husband. He and 3 others arrived in Haiti Tuesday evening. The primary job is helping some Haitians build a roof for one of their churches. Wednesday they assessed the church and put together a materials list. The following is a portion of Hubby’s email this morning:

They got the metal to build roof trusses, but had nothing to cut it with.  We looked for a metal blade for  a circular saw but could not find any, I’m not sure there is such a thing, but we were hoping so.  We ended up getting some hacksaws and cutting the metal by hand.  Maybe next time we’ll bring a sawzall and a bunch of metal blades.  There were several men from the church there helping so it really was not too bad.  They said they will have a welder there today.  At least that is how we understood them.  If so we should be able to get some trusses built.  I keep reminding myself we are here to help work WITH the local people , not do it For them. 

Sounds like they are off to a good start. I’ll be eager to hear how much can be done before Hubby comes home.

Over the next several days, I’ll continue to feed the cattle, but more importantly I’ll be praying for my brothers and sisters in Haiti.

I fall to my knees and pray to you, Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from your glorious, unlimited resources you will empower these dear people with inner strength through your Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in their hearts as they trust in him. May their roots  grow down into your love and keep them strong. And may they have the power to understand how wide, how long, how high, and how deep your love is. May they experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then they will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from you. Now all glory to God, who is able, through your mighty power at work within them, to accomplish infinitely more than they might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen. (Taken from Ephesians 3:14-21)

 

Leave a Reply

