Handpicked

One of the patriarchs of my church challenged the women to not go on  vacation from studying God’s Word this summer. She said just because our calendar & schedule changes, does not mean we should just put God on a shelf. He doesn’t take the summer off and neither should we! As children reprimanded by Momma, some of us have dove right in to a study on David. “Anointed, Transformed, Redeemed” by Priscilla Shirer, Beth Moore, and Kay Arthur is one that will cause the student to go deeper in study and relationship with God.

Today, I realized I better get started on my homework or it won’t be done by Lesson #2 on Monday. Week one, day one assignment focused on the fact that we are hand picked by God. I’ve known it, heard it, read it before, but the assignment taking a closer look impacted me differently than ever before.  In John 15:16 Jesus says, “You did not choose me, but I chose you”. So many times I have thought more in terms of I chose God; I chose to follow Him. Which is true I did, but he chose me first. That may be a bit confusing so let me give an illustration. Think of recess at school, the organized game of the day is kickball. Before the game can begin, we must choose teams. So the captains begin choosing who they want on their team. When I am chosen by Captain #1 to be on his team, I have an option to say “yes’ to his team, or say “no way” and head to the merry-go-round instead. The same is with God. He chooses us to be on his team. The realization that He handpicks us has a much greater impact than the simple idea that my response is to follow him.

According to Acts 13:22 we are told that David was a man after God’s own heart. Just as God chose David many, many years ago, He is still choosing men, women and children who desire to honor and serve Him.

God has handpicked you! How will you respond to Him?

Leave a Reply

