Joyful Singing

As I was working in the yard, the mockingbird siblings were trying to out do one another in their singing. With a bit of imagination, I could almost here them sing:

“I can sing anything you can sing better. I can sing anything better than you.”
“No, you can’t!”
“Yes, I can.”
“No, You can’t!”
“Yes, I can!”

Whatever it was, their chorusing back and forth was a joyful tune.

Oh how I love music. It can express any emotion and tell any kind of story, but the music I enjoy most is singing praises to God. Have you ever heard 130 third through eighth graders worshiping God in song? They sing without caring if they are too loud or on the right tune. They sing their hearts out to God. The praise and worship music from last week’s camp was that kind of singing!

“Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all the earth: make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise.” Psalm 98:4

“Singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts.” Ephesians 5:19

Now that I think about it, maybe those mockingbird siblings were singing:

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart….

Leave a Reply

