To Sell or Not to Sell

This morning Hubby and I were discussing “to sell” or “not to sell” as we prepare to bring cattle off rented pastures. As farmers and ranchers know, we have no power over the weather. Our corner of Kansas has seen too many years-in-a-row of drought. The dry parched grassland is taking a toll, and can’t seem to catch up with new growth.

Knowing the grass was going to be in short supply, we sold part of the herd in late spring. We had hoped to get enough rain showers to meet the grazing needs of the rest of the herd. This afternoon as I was traveling home from town, I could see clouds in the southwest and rain streaks in the sky. I am not good at judging distances so I couldn’t tell if it was close to our place or down in the Oklahoma Panhandle. But I just began pouring out my heart to God and thanking Him for the rain he was sending.

When I left town the thermometer read 102! About halfway home, big drops of rain began to splat on my windshield, and the temperature began to do a nosedive. In fact, by the time I pulled into the garage the thermometer had plummeted to 78 degrees!! Cooling, refreshing rain on a scalding summer day. Thank you, Lord for this blessing from above!!

Since summer showers in our part of the country can be so spotty – rain here and dry 2 miles away or the other way around – I took pictures for proof! (Please excuse the poor quality of photography. These were taken from within my vehicle while rain was still pouring down.)

Image

The corner of our field.

Image

Muddy Lane

The question still remains “to sell” or “not to sell”. We’ll see if this rain is enough to give the grass a growth spurt.

“O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in your sanctuary and gazed upon your power and glory. Your unfailing love is better than life itself; how I praise you! I will praise you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer.” Psalm 63:1-4

Leave a Reply

