Show and Tell Saturday

It has been a while since my last show and tell, so on this Saturday morning that is what I’ll do. First, I have a question for you. What do you do on a summer afternoon when the temps are in triple digits? I was working outside yesterday afternoon, and really didn’t mind the heat too much. Of course, the Kansas breeze (or wind depending on where you live) keeps the air moving so it feels much different than ninety degrees, calm and 100% humidity.

I have a patch of bamboo. I really don’t know what type of bamboo it is, because I got a start from a friend close to twenty years ago. It grows tall and green, is drought tolerant, and spreads. This spreading could be a problem in some areas where there is a lot of moisture, but I have not had any problems with it being invasive in our dry locale.  I very seldom water it, yet it still gets lush and about 12 feet tall, with big bushy plumes in the fall.

green

In the winter, this bamboo dies back so it can grow knew stalks in spring. Some people let the dried stalks stand, but I don’t like the straggly look when the new growth comes up. Instead, I cut them off. A chain saw makes quick work of them. The first couple years, I threw the pile over the alley fence, and they are still there! They do not decompose quickly at all. So then I started hauling them to the brush pile in the pasture.  They seem to make a great protective habitat for many critters. The beginning of May, we cut the old stalks off , and they’ve  been piled since.

bamboo

A few years ago, Hubby bought a small, portable wood chipper. It is not made for heavy duty tree branches, but works great for shrub clippings and such. Yesterday, Hubby graciously started the chipper for me. I am neither strong enough nor tall enough to get enough leverage on the pull rope to crank the engine. Besides, it makes him feel special to know I need him. 😉   I quickly went to work turning the pile of bamboo into chips to use for mulch. Although it was hot, I did not mind the work at all. It really was not a difficult job, and I was excited about the growing mound. Today, I’ll cart it to the yard and spread it under some young trees.

mulch

I ended up with 4 bags of free mulch. All it took was a little time and a bit of sweat. What project are you working on? My next one will be on the patio. Check back to see what it is.

  I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God. For who can eat or enjoy anything apart from him? Ecclesiastes 2:24, 25

Leave a Reply

