Sometimes There Is a Bigger Plan

I was visiting with a friend this week, and we were talking about all that has transpired in the past year or so in our lives. We’ve had some expected and some very unexpected twists and turns. She in fact is approaching a huge crossroad right now. Seeking my advice, I responded with, “I really don’t know what you should do IF _______ happens. I do know from my own experience that if I had known ahead of time where and what God was taking me, I probably would have said, ‘No thanks; I can’t do that; God, you have the wrong person.'” Sometimes there is a bigger plan up ahead just around the next bend that we can’t see now.

I have been challenged as I study the life of David: King David, Shepherd Boy to Man After God’s Own Heart. I have always appreciated David’s open honesty of his feelings especially in the book of Psalms. He shares the good, the bad, the ugly, and joyful praise to God. David does not stay angry or in the pit of despair. After he pours out his heart to God, he clings to faith and trust in God, giving “thanks to the Lord for His love endures forever.” (Psalm 136)

Following David’s example, we too must not let fear, disappointment or anger cripple us. We must work through these emotional responses. “O my people, trust in him [God] at all times. Pour out your heart to him, for God is our refuge.” Psalm 62:8 NLT God knows and understands all our emotions and reactions. We may not know the outcome, yet we can intentionally choose to trust God, because He does know. We don’t have to know what is on the road ahead, around the bend, or beyond the hill to trust Him. God has a plan for me; God has a plan for you, and sometimes there is a bigger plan that right now we cannot see.

One thought on “Sometimes There Is a Bigger Plan

  1. Pingback: Damage Control | Wayfarer

Leave a Reply

