Grin and Bear It

One day, not so long ago, I had one of those kind of days. I had my schedule in mind and the tasks I hoped to accomplish only to have the entire day changed. For some reason, on that particular day, the switch came like a curve ball. Can any of you relate? How did you react? Did you get upset and let everyone know; or did you take it all in stride and go with the flow?

Being a farm girl all my life, I should be used to this sort of unexpected schedule alteration. Working with animals or machinery, you never know when a critter is going to get out or when a truck or tractor will break down. In this most recent situation, I knew there was nothing I could do about it, so I figured I had better just grin and bear it. So that is exactly what I did.

As the evening began to wind down, I was reflecting on the day. Although it was not how I originally planned and most of my to-do list was unmarked, the day had been pretty good. Then I felt the Lord saying, “I didn’t want you to just grin and bear it. I wanted you to give me your all – 100%. I wanted you to do it for me!” I wanted to argue and say “But God, I did the best I could under the circumstances.” However, I remembered the few comments I made, and the disgruntled thoughts that kept running through my head. No, I hadn’t given 100%. I allowed those thoughts to rob me of some of the joy God had planned in that little switcheroo.

When I was praying in the early morning asking God to bless the day, He already knew His plans were not my plans. He knew what was ahead. He did bless the day, and He helped me adjust to the changes. I, on the other hand, let my stubbornness get in the way. Maybe it was not visible on the outside, but I sure knew it on the inside. I was like the little girl who was told to sit down but didn’t want to. When she finally complied and sat she said, “I may be sitting on the outside, but on the inside I’m still standing up!” God didn’t want me to just go through the motions, to grin and bear it; He wanted me to do it for HIS glory.

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it ALL for the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31

Leave a Reply

