Paint and a Bit of Fabric

It’s time for another show and tell.

Have you had an item that showed scars from wear and tear? What did you do with it; throw it out? I have had a couple folding chairs hiding in the closet. They were actually received as a wedding gift and have been used A-Lot. It got to the point that the years of use had scarred them so much, that I didn’t even get them out to use anymore. I didn’t want to throw them away though because structurally they were in great shape. It is amazing what a can of spray paint and a bit of fabric can do.

Sorry, I forgot to take a before picture, but I have pics of the process and completion.

I saw this bright, fun fabric and couldn’t resist.  These colors don’t go with my house decor at all, but they will be a bright spot on my patio when I have guests and need extra seating.DSC01747

The first thing I did was take the seat off. Then I took the frame outside and gave it a good coat of paint. Have you seen all the fun colors of spray paint? I chose watermelon pink and key lime for my two chairs. These were colors I pulled from the fabric print.DSC01741

While the chairs dried, I recovered the seats. I ran a bead of hot glue along the edges to hold the fabric tight and in place. Then I turned the edges under and stapled in place. The rounded corners were a little tricky, but I just made a couple tucks.DSC01743

By the time I finished the seats, the paint was dry and ready to reassemble. This was one of the quickest makeovers I’ve done, and I am so very glad I didn’t discard those old folding chairs.DSC01750

Sometimes I feel old and worn out, but I am so thankful my family doesn’t stick me in the closet. I am also thankful that no matter what my age or physical condition, the Master Creator is not finished with me yet. He renews my spirit and continues to transform me. I am reminded of the the little song He’s Still Working on Me; the chorus says:

He’s still working on me
To make me what I need to be
It took him just a week to make the moon and stars
The sun and the earth and Jupiter and Mars
How loving and patient He must be
‘Cause He’s still workin’ on me

Yes, God is most definitely still workin’ on me!

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6

 

Leave a Reply

