Servant Heart

servant1

This quote has been on my refrigerator for many years. I would love to give credit, but I do not remember when or where I first heard it. I do know that I heard it at a time when I needed such a reminder, because I was begrudging my duties. When one is in a position of service and the recipient makes demands  or takes the service for granted, the servant can easily lose joy in serving.

There have been numerous times throughout the years, when I needed to check my reaction as I served my family and others. Sometimes I would make a special dinner, but my hubby and children didn’t seem to even notice the extra effort and care I had put in for them. When we had company, my dysfunctional kitchen didn’t allow for much help from others. As I was working, I would be able to hear laughter coming from the living room. The laughter should have put me in a good mood, but  occasionally I allowed the opposite. I would allow myself to feel left out, missing the fun, while I did all the work.

Did you notice how many times I referred to “I” in the above paragraph? That was intentional, because when we are serving with a servant heart our thoughts and motives should not and will not be on ourselves. The Bible has much to say about serving God and others, and we are never told to serve for our own praise, recognition or advancement. Instead, we are told to serve each other humbly and with love.

All of you, serve each other in humility, for God opposes the proud but favors the humble. 1 Peter 5:5

…use your freedom to serve one another in love. Galatians 5:13

This little quote will remain on my frig door until I have it mastered. If you wonder if you  have a servant heart, think of your reaction when someone treats you as a servant.

Leave a Reply

