A Taste of Spring

Earlier in the week, we had our 18th snow for winter 2013-14. This is very unusual for our corner of the world, but we are so very grateful for the moisture. The snowfall was quickly followed by a couple days of springlike weather with temps in the 60s. With melting snow, tulips pushing through the damp earth, and goldfish playing at water’s surface, I was tempted to get my hands in the dirt. However, I restrained because I know Mother Nature is a tease. Instead, I whipped up a taste of spring with a few new recipes.

The local grocery store has been getting in some beautiful, plump, sweet, juicy strawberries. We usually eat them fresh, whole, or sliced, dipped in chocolate or stirred into yogurt. This time I made Almond Cream Filled Strawberries. An easy snack, appetizer or dessert that looks a tad fancy for my farmer.

ImageSince I had whipping cream left over, I got brave and made some Grilled Pears with Honey Roquefort Whipped Cream. This was not as big of hit, and I will not be making them again.

ImageCold winds returned this morning. So while Hubby got a fire going in the wood stove, I made a batch of Bacon Grits for breakfast. What a delicious enhancement to plain grits! Of course, how can cheese and bacon not boost the flavor? We drizzled a bit of maple syrup to top it off.  This will definitely become part of our breakfast menu rotation.

ImageThe temperature is quickly dropping; wind is blowing tumble weeds south, and the fish are at pond’s bottom. Snow #19 is in tonight’s forecast, and a big mug of hot chocolate sounds very warming right now. A handful of lemons and limes are waiting for our next taste of spring. Monday is predicted to be in the 70s, and I’m already anticipating fresh squeezed lemonade or cherry limeade.

Image

Leave a Reply

