Quiet Time

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhh. It’s quiet time.  Sometimes with a houseful of small children, or even just one youngster, quiet time can be as beneficial to Mom as it is to the kids.

As my children outgrew their afternoon naps, they graduated to quiet time. This time was usually for a half hour to an hour and books were quietly looked at. Each child had a blanket and pillow, and then laid down on the living room floor. I got comfy in the recliner with my own reading material, which was often times my Bible, or journal. Sometimes the kids and/or I would would even doze for a bit. It was amazing how as short as half an hour of quiet could re-energize me, and spread peace and companionship among the children. The children got up ready to play together again. Quiet time was welcome and refreshing.

Our quiet time with God can and should be the same, welcome and refreshing. I especially enjoy spending this time outside, and have several niches in my yard landscape to invite a quiet sit. Out there I am not distracted with electronics or other man-made niceties, but I can easily reflect on God’s abundant grace and love. It is a place I can pray, listen, ponder, spend quiet time with God.

Recently, at a women’s meeting, the speaker addressed the fact that so often we get so busy DOING things, we don’t take time to rest quietly. This does not mean you have to lay down for a nap, but think about it. If we are constantly on the go and our time of prayer is only petitions and telling God what He should do, how are we ever going to hear his quiet gentle voice?

In the Bible, Mark 6, The apostles gathered around Jesus and were reporting all they had been doing. In fact, they were ministering to so many people, they hadn’t even had time to take a lunch break. They were tired and hungry, and Jesus said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” (Mark 6:31) I believe Jesus would like to extend that same invitation to you and me.

My speaker friend thought so too. She made each woman in attendance a special invitation as if it were from Jesus, himself. I’d like to pass that invitation along to you.

ImageFind a time and place for some much needed quiet time today. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

