ANXIETY

“Cast all your anxiety on Him, for He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

What do you do when you are up against a deadline, time is running out, and everything that can go wrong does?

Does your stomach churn? Do you get snappy at everyone that crosses your path? Are you stalled from all the roadblocks, or do you hunker down to blaze the trail remembering with God’s help you’ve got this?

Yesterday was one of those days, and a day to practice what I preach.

  • Trying to get ready for a week of camp ministry for a record number of campers with only a few beds to spare.
  • Piled up laundry and the sewer backed up.
  • Discovering a pack rat in my garden chomping off my plants and trying to trap it.
  • Meal prep for Hubby and boiled over potatoes

Sadly I had moments where I failed to let God handle all my anxieties. I had to apologize to the mom who called wanting help finding a ride for her daughter to go to camp. I suggested calling another family with a daughter about the same age, and she replied, “My daughter doesn’t really speak to her.” Well, I did not respond very gently when I informed her that they would need to get over it, because they would need to get along and speak since they’d be spending a week in a crowded cabin together. I think my over-reaction took this mom by surprise. Unfortunately, I was a bit snippy, but a few minutes later with a returned call I was able to apologize for my behavior.

God knows we are not always going to handle anxiety, fear or stress very well. That’s why he gives us verses such as the one I began with. In the Bible we are also given many examples of people who needed the same reminders. At camp, we are going to be learning about Joshua. God repeatedly tells Joshua to be strong and courageous, don’t be terrified. Joshua is also assured that God is with Him. Although, Joshua’s assignment may have been monumental compared to what you or I are called, God’s promises are true for us as well.

It’s crunch time! I have today to complete the tasks of camp prep and pack. There will most likely be a few bumps in the road, but God and I got this! 

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6

Leave a Reply

