Good Morning

“Good morning, merry sunshine,
How did you wake so soon?
You chased away the little stars,
And shone away the moon!”

I remember my mom singing this little verse to wake me on summer mornings when I was young. I’ve tried it a few times with my camp girls, but they did not appreciate my early morning song!

Are you a morning person? Although my days have started early for so much of my life that even on vacation I usually wake with the sun or before, I naturally am not a morning person. I do enjoy starting early mornings with Jesus and the sunrise. A vast expanse of eastern skies with very little to block the view is right out my bedroom window, and the scene from my porch bench for warmer mornings. As I read my Bible and pray my eyes are often lifted towards the dawning sun. I begin the day with the assurance that God knows what lies ahead, and I do not need to try to tackle the obstacles on my own.

Morning by morning he wakens me
and opens my understanding to his will. Isaiah 50:4b NLT

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Those who live at the ends of the earth
stand in awe of your wonders.
From where the sun rises to where it sets,
you inspire shouts of joy. Psalm 65:8 NLT

 Satisfy us each morning with your unfailing love,
 so we may sing for joy to the end of our lives.                                                                                  Psalm 90:14 NLT

Do you remember this little chorus?

“Heavenly Sunshine. Heavenly Sunshine.   Flooding my soul with glory devine.  Heavenly Sunshine. Heavenly Sunshine.  Hallelujah! Jesus is mine.”

 Have a blessed day, and if the sun is not shining in your part of the world, I pray the SON will brighten your day!

Leave a Reply

