No Man Can Tame the Tongue

A gentle answer turns away wrath,
but a harsh word stirs up anger.
Proverb 15:1

Oh to master this truth at a young age!

When I substitute teach, my 20 minute drive allows me time to pray for the students I’ll be spending the day with. I also pray that I will have patience and gentle responses. There are times when a student enters the classroom angry, and my response has a lot to do in setting the tone for the rest of the class.

In the New Testament book of James, we are told “no man can tame the tongue.” If that’s the case, why bother trying?!

Let’s take a closer look. James 3:7-10

All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind, but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. (NIV)
We should strive daily to control/tame our tongue because human beings/mankind/people have been made in God’s likeness. As Christ Followers, we should reflect God’s character to all. However, too often we fail.
Often on my way home from school, I reflect on my day…Did I remember to speak gently, patiently, calmly? Did my students see Jesus in me? How can I respond differently next time?
Are you trying to tame your tongue? What steps are you taking?
May the words of my mouth
and the meditation of my heart
be pleasing to you,
O LORD, my rock and my redeemer. Psalm 19:14

Leave a comment